College of Natural Resources, UC Berkeley

Scholarships 2/4/11

February 3, 2011

I. Western Aquatic Plant Management Society Aquatic Plant Scholarship
II. Jengyee Prize - Leadership for a better world

I. Western Aquatic Plant Management Society Aquatic Plant Scholarship
The Western Aquatic Plant Management Society (WAPMS) is pleased to announce the 2011 Barbra H. Mullin Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $2,000 to support students in the pursuit of a degree in aquatic sciences.

To be eligible, applicants must be currently 1) enrolled as a full-time undergraduate or graduate student in an accredited college or university in the western United States and 2) engaged in course work or research related to the biology, ecology, management, or education of aquatic plants. All scholarship applicants will receive a one-year membership to WAPMS and a waiver of registration fees for the meeting in Westin Hotel in Westminster, CO from March 28-30, 2011.

Applications will be judged by a committee of academic, industry, and agency representatives. Judging will not be done by individuals with a personal or institutional affiliation with the applicant. Announcement of the scholarship winner will be made at the 2011 WAPMS meeting. Winner need not be present.

Application Procedure:
1. Applicants must provide a short resume/curriculum vitae, transcripts of college/university coursework (unofficial is acceptable), and a statement that describes the intended use of scholarship funds, applicable collaborators, and the applicant’s career goals. The statement should be limited to four pages (double spaced).
2. Two letters of support must be submitted. At least one should be from a college/university faculty member familiar with the applicant’s abilities, interests and career goals. Letters may be emailed.
3. All application materials should be submitted electronically to the WAPMS Scholarship Program Chair, Dr. Scott Nissen at, by March 1, 2011 at 5:00 (MST).

II. Jengyee Prize - Leadership for a better world
Undergraduates with a sophomore standing or higher are eligible to apply for this $1000 prize. Deadline to apply is March 31st, 2011. For more information about the program and how to apply, please click here.