College of Natural Resources, UC Berkeley

Events & Announcements

January 23, 2013

Jan 23 | Museum of Vertebrate Zoology Orientation
Jan & Feb | USDA Student Program Informational Webinar Sessions

Jan 23 | Museum of Vertebrate Zoology

Volunteer opportunites, URAPS, Work-study, special classes, lab positions in projects on animal genetics, anatomy, or behavior, field work, and more!!!

IMPORTANT DATES:

• MVZ Orientation January 23rd, 5pm - 3101 VLSB
• URAP deadline January 28th, 4pm
• Hand in your MVZ application anytime
• For Spring 2013, be placed in a position by March 1st.

Drop by and check us out! - 3101 VLSB


Jan & Feb | USDA Student Program Informational Webinar Sessions

There will be various U.S. Department of Agriculture Student Program Informational Webinar Sessions on USDA Careers January 24, 2013 and February 19, 20 & 21, 2013. All informational sessions will be conducted from 2-3:30 p.m. (EST)

Topics covered will be:

• An Overview of USDA,
• An Introduction to the USDA Careers,
• Available Opportunities,
• Basic Qualifications and Application Process, and
• Mission Areas Presentations.

Who should attend?
• Recent Graduates and Students Who Are U.S. Residents or U.S. Citizens.

Requirements to participate in the webinar:
• Internet Accessibility and
• Access to a Computer With Speakers.

Audience:
• Open to All Majors: Agriculture, Environment, Science, Mathematics, Statistics, Technology, Business Management, and Other Administrative Majors.
• All Informational Sessions Will be Recorded and Captioned.

To register:
• Register at: wenndy.carrasco@dm.usda.gov.
• On the subject line, type “RSVP-Informational Session on USDA Careers”.
• On the email body provide the following:
• Full name,
• Email address,
• Month & date
• University, degree and State.
• Be sure to indicate in the email message the date you would like to register for the webinar.
For example: if you want to participate in the November webinar, just choose one of the dates.

To Log in:
• First, check your time zone before you long in:
• 2-3:30PM (EST)
• 1-2:30PM (CST)
• 12-1:30PM (MST),
• 11 AM-12:30PM (PST)
• 9-10:30 AM (AKST)
• 8-09:30 AM (HST)
• Second, copy and save the link after confirming your registration. This link will be used to access the webinar on the date you selected.

Spotlight Opportunity: Take photographs while participating in a group in any of our webinar series and submit a photograph with a brief description of what you have learned through the webinar to: wenndy.carrasco@dm.usda.gov. You will be featured in their newsletter.