College of Natural Resources, UC Berkeley

Giving Opportunities

The Rudy Grah Chair in Forestry & Sustainable Development


This fund supports a faculty chair in the the agroforestry program.

The current chairholder is Professor Louise Fortmann of the Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management.

Prof. Fortmann studies outcomes of natural resource use and management for individuals and for communities. Her research is located in California and southern Africa. Her students work all over the world on questions of

  • poverty
  • gender
  • community control of natural resources
  • property
  • knowledge production (facilitating cooperation among scientists)

All gifts to CNR are tax-deductible to the extent of the law.


ESPM Professor Louise Fortmann is the current Rudy Grah chairholder.