



# **Honors Research Symposium**

Morgan Hall Lounge, Room 114

Friday, Dec. 8th, 2023

8 a.m. Dean's Welcome	
-----------------------	--

#### 8:15 AM

**Claire Hambrick, CRS** | RCNR Faculty Sponsor: Mary Lesser, NST Understanding our Food System: An Analysis of Food and Agricultural Policies in California and Their Implications for Urban and Rural Communities

## 8:27 AM

**Royale Williams, CRS** | RCNR Faculty Sponsor: Peter Nelson, ESPM Indigenous Research Methodologies: The Intersections Between Post-Fire Management and Freshwater Management Within the Klamath River Basin

## 8:39 AM

**Megan Wu, EMF/MEB** | Faculty Mentor: Erin Carroll | RCNR Faculty Sponsor: Benjamin Blonder, ESPM Effect of Cytotype on Hydraulic Architecture and Drought Response of Quaking Aspen (*Populus tremuloides*)

#### 8:51 AM

**Aunnesha Bhowmick, MEB** | RCNR Faculty Sponsor: Benjamin Blonder, ESPM Cytotype Effect on Plant Hydraulic Strategy: A Case Study of Quaking Aspen

## 9:03 AM

**Owain Rose, MEB** | RCNR Faculty Sponsor: Damian Elias, ESPM Invasiveness Behaviors in Regal Jumping Spiders

#### 9:15 AM

**Abigail Fernandes, MEB** | RCNR Faculty Sponsor: Cecilia Martinez-Gomez, PMB The Search for a Second Lanthanide Uptake and Transport System in *Methylobacterium extorquens* 

#### 9:27 AM

**Shahar Schwartz, MB** | Faculty Mentor: Dave Savage | RCNR Faculty Sponsor: Dan Portnoy, PMB Comparing Inserted Plant Enhancer Activity Based on Disrupted Sequence Conservation and Distance from Transcription Start Site

### 9:39 AM

**Timothy Kim, MB/Public Health** | Faculty Mentor: Mimi Koehl | RCNR Faculty Sponsor: Kathleen Ryan, PMB

Susceptibility of C. flexa to predation by amoeboid predators depending on colony configuration

## 9:51 AM

**Zaid Ansari, NST** | RCNR Faculty Sponsor: Ashley Reaver, NST Neuromuscular Activity of the Forearm Muscles in the Deadlift Movement: A Comprehensive Review

-----END OF MORNING-----

## **Symposium Judges:**

Lau Gherardi, Sheila McCormick

Thanks & special acknowledgement to Sofia Villas-Boas and Jay Sevilla for their organization and contributions to the RCNR Honors Research Program.