David L. G. Noakes Award
Outstanding student paper in behavioral development

David Lloyd George Noakes (1942-2020) was George Barlow’s first PhD student at UC Berkeley, earning his doctorate in 1971. He was a professor for 30+ years at the University of Guelph and then 15 years at Oregon State University where he also was Director of the Oregon Hatchery Research Center. His leadership as Editor of the Environmental Biology of Fishes journal and Fish & Fisheries Series spanned 20 years. David was a founding member of EEEF and largely responsible for the organizing and welcoming atmosphere of these biennial meetings from the mid-1980’s through 2020. EEEF was one of the many avenues by which David was dedicated to mentoring students and connecting and supporting colleagues. David published widely about the behavior, ecology and conservation of fishes, often exploring the ontogeny of behavior during life history in relation to environmental cues. In honor of David’s work, the David Noakes Award will be given for the best talk or poster for a study of ontogenetic change in behavior or ecology during early life history.

Gerry Fitzgerald Award
Best student poster presentation

Gerry Fitzgerald (1950-1994) earned a Doctor of Philosophy under Miles Keenleyside at the University of Western Ontario in 1976, and subsequently worked as a professor at Laval University. Gerry’s research focused on evolutionary and behavioural ecology of fishes, and addressed questions related to aggression, cannibalism, kin recognition and alternative reproductive tactics.

Past recipients

2018Jack GoldmanFunctional concentration of disturbance cues influence conspecific and heterospecific responses by Trinidadian guppies and convict cichlids
2016Erin ReedRelationships between climate, growth, and fisheries production
2014Oscar NordahlThe history of strategy variation in sympatric pike
2012Jason MoulandGenetic restoration of aurora trout: results from captive and wild trials
2010Ben SutherlandUnderstanding the varying sensitivities of salmon to Lepeophtheirus salmonis infection
2008Camille LeblancEgg size affects arctic charr behaviour and morphology
2006Annapurni NarayananFemale body size on mate choice
2004Kathryn PeimanHeritable variation in brook stickleback body form
2002Jonathan LeeCuckoldry by the territorial morph of male midshipman
2000Michael SmithRisk assessment in mosquitofish
1998Jeremy MitchellClutch size correlates in false clown anemonefish

The R. Jan F. Smith Conservation Award
Presented to the student whose presentation (oral or poster) best exemplified the study of fish conservation

Reginald Jan Frederick Smith (1940-1998) earned a Doctor of Philosophy under Miles Keenleyside at the University of Western Ontario in 1967, and subsequently worked as a professor at the University of Saskatchewan. Jan’s best-known research contributions focused on predation and alarm pheromones in fishes.

Past recipients

2018Xavier BordeleauDalhousie University
2016Katelyn LawsonUniversity of Florida
2014Tim PusackUniversity of Hawaii
2012Natalie SopinkaUniversity of British Columbia
2010Takuya SatoKyoto University
2008Daniella Swenton-OlsonUniversity of New Mexico
2006Koh HasegawaHokkaido University
2004Marja Jarvenpa aUniversity of Helsinki
2002Laura WeirDalhousie University

The Jack Ward Memorial Prize
Given for the best student presentation

Jack Ward (1935-1982) earned a Doctor of Philosophy under George Barlow at the University of Illinois in 1965, and subsequently worked as a professor at Illinois State University. Jack Ward’s research focused on the ethology and behavioral ecology of fishes, and in particular the life history and parental care behaviour of the orange chromide cichlid. Jack’s interest and enthusiasm led him to organize the first EEEF meeting in 1977 at Illinois State University.

Past recipients

2018Rose O’Dea
2016Brian Gallagher
2014Julia Unrein
2012Chandra Rodgers
2010Brendan ConnorsNatlie Sopinka
2008Naomi Gardiner
2006Andrea BélangerBrad Erisman
2004Roi HolzmanDylan Weese
2002Stephen Simpson
2000David Strang
1998Lisa Privitera
1996Lars Pettersson
1994Jeffery Mahon
1992Patrick Ross
1990Martin Jennings
1987Peter Reinthal
1985Larry Greenberg

Dr. Mary G. Henry Award
Outstanding Student Paper in Applied Behavioral Ecology

Mary G. Henry was one of the original Organizing Committee members for the EEEF meetings. She devoted her career to applied studies of fish behavioral ecology, and the support of students and colleagues at all levels. She published extensively on applied aspects of fish behavioral ecology – often for very high profile species.