Lab Members

Neil Tsutsui, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator / Professor
ntsutsui@berkeley.edu
EmailTwitterGoogle Scholar
Elizabeth Cash, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2016-Present
eicash@berkeley.edu
EmailGoogle ScholarWebsite
Kelsey Scheckel
PhD Candidate
scheckek@berkeley.edu
Email
Seira Ashley Adams
PhD Candidate (EvoLab)
seira.adams@berkeley.edu
EmailGoogle ScholarLinkedIn
Brian Whyte
PhD Candidate
ba.whyte@berkeley.edu
Email
Nina Pak
PhD Candidate
nina.pak@berkeley.edu
Email
Amelia Harvey
PhD Candidate
amelia_harvey@berkeley.edu
Email
Sean Perez
PhD Candidate (Will Lab)
seanperez@berkeley.edu
Email
Rachel Weinberg
PhD Student
rachel.weinberg@berkeley.edu
Email

Undergraduate Students

Caleb Hwang
Undergrad Researcher
caleb.hwang@berkeley.edu
Email
Stephanie Wu
Undergrad Researcher
steph.wu3@berkeley.edu
Email
Casey Kwok
Undergrad Researcher
ckwok2021@berkeley.edu
Email
Matthew Wong
Undergrad Researcher
matthewcwong@berkeley.edu
Email

Lab Alumni

Maria Tonione, Ph.D.
PhD 2018 / Postdoc 2018-2020
riatoni@berkeley.edu
EmailGoogle Scholar
Aman Gill, Ph.D.
Postdoc 2016-2019 (Will Lab)
Currently: Bioinformatics Scientist at Assembly Biosciences, Emeryville, CA
LinkedIn
Rebecca Sandidge, Ph.D.
PhD 2018
Currently: Freelance Data Scientist, San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Email
Jan Büllesbach, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2016-2018
Currently: Scientific assistant at the Institute for Evolution and Biodiversity at the University of Münster, Germany
EmailLinkedInGoogle Scholar
Jenna Florio
Research Assistant 2016-2018
Currently: Finance and Operations Associate at Patagonia Provisions, Sausalito, CA
LinkedInChirps Team
Joshua Gibson, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2016-2017
Currently: Assistant Professor at Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, GA
EmailLinkedInGoogle Scholar
Kaustubh Gokhale, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2014-2016
Currently: Scientist II at Mission Bio, South San Francisco, CA
EmailGoogle ScholarLinkedIn
Kate Mathis, Ph.D.
PhD 2015
Currently: Assistant Professor at Clark University, Worcester, MA
EmailContact
Tara Madsen-Steigmeyer, Ph.D.
PhD 2014
LinkedIn
Virginia Emery, Ph.D.
PhD 2013
Currently: Insect Entrepreneur at Beta Hatch, Greater Seattle Area, WA
EmailLinkedInWebsite
Santiago Ramírez, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2008-2013
Currently: Associate Professor at University of California, Davis, CA
EmailGoogle ScholarRamirez Lab
Candice Torres, Ph.D.
PhD 2012
Currently: Associate Professor at Tarrant County College, Ft. Worth, TX
Email
Brian Johnson, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow 2009-2011
Currently: Associate Professor at University of California, Davis, CA
EmailGoogle ScholarJohnson Lab
Dong-Hwan Choe, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2009-2011
Currently: Associate CE Specialist/Associate Professor at University of California, Riverside, CA
EmailChoe Lab
Ellen van Wilgenburg, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2006-2010
Currently: Lecturer in Biological Sciences at Fordham University, New York, NY
EmailGoogle ScholarContact
Johanna Clémencet, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2006-2007
Currently: Assistant Professor at Université de La Réunion
Email
Miriam Brandt, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2005-2007
Currently: Scientific Coordinator at the Leibniz Institute for Zoo & Wildlife Research
EmailWebsite
Megan McPhee, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar 2003-2005
Currently: Associate Professor at University of Alaska-Fairbanks
EmailContact

Undergraduate Alumni

Katie Sanko
Undergrad Researcher 2017-2020
kas8898@berkeley.edu
Email
Ali Setayesh
Undergrad Researcher 2017-2020
ali_setayesh@berkeley.edu
Email
Skyler Anderson
Undergrad Researcher 2019-2020
skylerbear@berkeley.edu
Email
Jasper Chao
Undergrad Researcher 2019-2020
ubichao@berkeley.edu
Email
Gary Chen
Undergrad Researcher 2019-2020
baconfry39@berkeley.edu
Email
Emily Kinnaman
Undergrad Researcher 2019
ekinnaman@berkeley.edu
Email
Prabhmehar Sodhi
Undergrad Researcher 2019
sodhiprabh@berkeley.edu
Email
Emily Miles
Undergrad Researcher 2019
emily.r.miles@berkeley.edu
Email
Junrun (Buzz) Chen
Undergrad Researcher 2017-2018
LinkedIn
Jessica Maccaro
Undergrad Researcher 2016-2018
jessica.maccaro@ucr.edu
Email