Rausser College faculty, students honored with 2022 Sustainability Awards

April 29, 2022

The 2022 CACS Sustainability Awardees. Photo by Andy Myers

Congratulations to Celine Pallud and Kate O’Neill, professors in the Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management, and undergraduates Gabrielle Christina Ledesma Ambayec, Moe Sumino, and Justin Hogenauer on receiving the 2022 Sustainability Award.

Presented by the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Sustainability, the awards recognize faculty, staff, and students whose work makes UC Berkeley a more sustainable place to work, live, and learn.

Pallud and O’Neill were recognized for their contributions to the Faculty Sustainability Curriculum Workshop Team: a multidisciplinary group that hosts curriculum workshops to support faculty members as they integrate sustainability concepts into their courses. The workshops have supported more than 50 instructors thus far and led to the development of two new classes.

Ugo Nwokeji, professor in the department of African American Studies; Jennifer Mangold, director of the Fung Fellowship; and Giuliana Perco, lecturer in the Italian Studies Language Program, are also members of the Curriculum Workshop Team.

Ledesma Ambayec, a fourth-year molecular environmental biology major and environmental justice associate for the Student Environmental Resource Center (SERC), was recognized for her efforts to institutionalize environmental justice at Berkeley and within the greater UC System. 

Third-year conservation and resource studies major Moe Sumino was recognized for her academic and community contributions to food sovereignty, land-based healing, and environmental justice at UC Berkeley.

Justin Hogenauer, a fourth-year society and environment business administration double-major, was recognized for his commitment to public service and passion for the environment.

Visit the Berkeley Sustainability and Carbon Solutions website to view a full list of winners.