ARE Faculty and Alumni Receive Honors

August 02, 2007
Several CNR faculty and alumni from the department of Agriculture and Resource Economics were honored with awards from the American Agricultural Economics Association at that group's 2007 annual meeting in July.

Professor David Zilberman and his co-editors were given the association’s Quality of Communication Award for their book on the regulation of GMOs, Regulating Agricultural Biotechnology.

Zilberman also received an award for Outstanding Article in the Review of Agricultural Economics for his article "Adoption of Bt Cotton and Impact Variability: Insights from India."

Professor Jeffery LaFrance was named the American Agricultural Economics Association Fellow.

Meridith Fowlie, an assistant professor of economics at the University of Michigan who received her Ph.D. at ARE in 2006, was honored for her Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation, "Firm Behavior in Pollution Permit Markets." (See related working paper.) Professors Jeffrey Perloff and Severin Borenstein were her advisers.

Finally, The Publication of Enduring Quality Award was given to Robert Innes, who earned his ARE Ph.D. in 1986, currently a professor at the University of Arizona.