Committee Invites Participation in Search for the New Dean of CNR

October 15, 2007
To faculty, staff, and students of the College of Natural Resources:

The College of Natural Resources Dean Search Committee invites active participation from CNR faculty, staff, and students in the search for a new Dean. CNR’s goal is to insure the best qualified pool of applicants for this position with particular consideration of the diversity sought by the Chancellor's office. Please refer to the posted announcement about the search for CNR's new Dean.
The search committee invites nominations as well as direct applications. The college's faculty, staff, students, and alumni are invited to play a central role in encouraging applicants and nominating strong candidates. Your nominations will be treated as confidential and only shared with committee members and the Office of the Chancellor.

CNR also welcomes any comments regarding issues or concerns that you feel the next Dean should address. We have set up a dedicated email address for this purpose. All such comments will be treated as confidential to committee members and the Chancellor's office. Please provide your input via email to the College of Natural Resources Dean Search Committee.

The deadline for applications and nominations is December 1, 2007.

In January a short list of candidates to be invited to the campus will be identified and the faculty and community will be notified of the names on that list. Your cooperation in maintaining confidentiality regarding the identity of all candidates and nominees prior to that time is appreciated. CNR does not intend to notify candidates that they are no longer candidates until the Chancellor's office completes its deliberations and negotiations.

The committee hopes to submit its report to the Chancellor's Office through Vice Provost Zedeck by early April. The Chancellor will then appoint the new Dean on the recommendation of Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Breslauer.

-William Dietrich, Chair, College of Natural Resources Dean Search Committee