David Zilberman elected to National Academy of Sciences

May 02, 2019

In recognition of their outstanding achievements in original research, eight UC Berkeley faculty have been elected members of the National Academy of Sciences, one of the most distinguished scientific organizations in the country.

The newly elected researchers include a neuroscientist, two physicists, two cellular biologists, a computer scientist, a chemist and an economist, and bring the total number of living UC Berkeley faculty who are members of the academy to 135.

Among these new members is David Zilberman, Robinson Chair of in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics, who develops economic models to understand fundamental problems in agriculture, economics and policy and is the recipient of the 2019 Wolf Prize in Agriculture.

Established in 1863, the National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that, along with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine, provides science, engineering and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations. The eight Berkeley faculty members are among 100 new members and 25 foreign associates added to the society this year.